Department News and Updates! January 31, 2014


  • Goat Day, Tomorrow Feb 1, Freeborn Hall
  • Aggie Classic Prospect Pig Sale, Tomorrow Feb 1 Cole Facility
  • Ermias Kebreab appointed as Deputy Director of UC Davis’s Agricultural Sustainability Institute
  • Animal Science alum, Katie Almand, accepted position as informational representative of the California Cattlemen’s Association.


  • ‘Sustainable Animal Agriculture’ edited by Ermias Kebreab published (available on Amazon). Book features faculty at UCD: Cass Tucker, Joy Mench, Alison Van Eenennaam , Jim Fadel, Luis Moraes, Frank Mitloehner from ANS; Steve Blank (ARE); Meredith Niles (ESP)
  • Nicola De Riua, Jang-Won Leeb, Susie Huang, & Silas Hung co-authors of “Effect of dietary selenomethionine on growth performance,tissue burden, and histopathology in green and white sturgeon” in Aquatic Toxicology
  • Pablo Ross coauthor on “Culture medium composition affects the gene expression pattern and in vitro development potential of bovine somatic cell nuclear transfer (SCNT) embryos” in Biological Research


  • Visitors from Bobcat Ranch tour Animal Science meat lab
  • Jan Carlson attended the joint American Sheep Industry American Goat Federation in Charleston, South Carolina & presented on the ANS & Vet Med collaborative goat research done at ANS goat facility
  • The campus hosted a post-AAALAC celebratory luncheon at the Davis Bike Museum. ANS attendees were Lisa Holmes, Jan Carlson, Dan Sehnert, James Moller, & Joel Viloria. Joel Viloria & Dan Sehnert provided the after dinner entertainment
  • Frank Mitloehner presented to the American Feed Industry Association’s Expo in Atlanta GA then traveled on to Rome for the FAO LEAP project
  • Alison Van Eenennaam spoke on “The science of genetically engineered feed for livestock” at the International Dairy Foods Association Annual Meeting, Palm Springs, CA
  • Jerry Johnson, Anna Leyvan, Peter Robinson, Dan Sehnert attended the Drought Workshop at Sierra Field Research Extension center; Bob Sainz & Jim Oltjen presenters at the conference