Department News and Updates! May 9, 2011


  • Department of Animal Science hosted California Chamber of Commerce Livestock Man of the Year committee
  • Transfer Decision Day Friday May 13
  • Interviews ongoing for Microbiologist/Immunologist Asst Professor Position


  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus Gary Anderson designated American Society of Animal Science Research Fellow
  • ANS mentored Grad students sweep California Animal Nutrition Conference Awards- Poster winners: Kim Stackhouse (1st), Qian Wang (2nd), Stacy Wrinkle (3rd) and  Scholarship winner– Rainer Rauch
  • Outstanding Mentor for Women & Research– Anita Oberbauer 
  • ANS mentored grad students excel at the Interdisciplinary Graduate and Professional Student Symposium. Honorable Mention posters: Caitlin Cooper, Erin Legacki, Ashley Rowson-Baldwin.  Honorable Mention Arts & Performance: Eranda Rajapaksha.  Dean’s Prize for Best Oral Presentation: Grace Berryhill
  • UCD Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award : Erin Legacki


  • Alison van Eenennaam and Cass Tucker team members of $9.75 million  NIFA BRD grant
  • Deanne Meyer co-author of “Transforming US Agriculture” published in Science (5/5/2011 issue)
  • See for more in the news


  • UCD Animal Science goat barn wether wins at Monterey Bay Classic
  • Jim Oltjen is FASS President-Elect
  • Peter Robinson, Dan Sehnert, Anita Oberbauer, Cass Tucker participated/traveled to California Animal Nutrition Conference
  • Frank Mitloehner presented at Animal Ag Alliance tenth annual Stakeholders Summit 
  • Alison van Eenennaam (speaker), Juan Medrano, Dan Drake at  International Genomics Conference  for sustainable livestock breeding held in Australia